Posted on

scottish education levels

If you are on a personal connection, like at home, you can run an anti-virus scan on your device to make sure it is not infected with malware.
Another way to prevent getting this page in the future is to use Privacy Pass. You may need to download version 2.0 now from the Chrome Web Store.

A Higher National Certificate (HNC) takes one year to complete. Successful completion of an HNC allow applicants to apply to a HND programme (in the same subject). It may also be possible to progress to Year 1 or Year 2 of a university degree programme with suitable grades from an HNC.
A National Certificate (NC) is sometimes suitable for students with no formal qualifications. They offer practical help in developing skills for work and can, in some instances, provide access to higher level programmes such as an HNC or HND.

Scottish education levels
SCQF stands for the Scottish Credit and Qualification Framework (SCQF), which brings together different sets of qualifications into one comprehensive and integrated framework. SCQF classifies various Scottish educational qualifications within comparable ‘levels’. Level 5 includes Standard Grades credit level. A fuller description of SCQF levels is provided on the SCQF website.

Click graph to expand

Scottish education levels
There are five curriculum levels – Early, First, Second, Third and Fourth – in the broad general education (from early years to the end of S3).
Note: This is a general guide. Learners will progress at their own pace through the curriculum levels – the framework is designed to be flexible to permit careful planning for those with additional support needs , including those who have a learning difficulty and those who are particularly able or talented .